Quotations and Homages

Released worldwide on Reference Recordings on April 6, 2018

  • The genius of this album is in its effortless flow. Each work follows naturally from one to the next. Though unified by the common theme of homage, each piece is wholly individual and unrelated to the others, enabling continuous listener attention… The concept is creative, the program well constructed, and Shpachenko’s pianism is of the highest caliber. The recording is sure to remain a mainstay of the contemporary discography for posterity.

    Steven Niles, New Classic LA
  • …a superb and superbly recorded program of pieces as fresh as they are ready to pay respect to the traditions that led to their creation… Shpachenko’s playing is everything it needs to be and more… Eras seem not to exist for her, and neither does musical dogma, allowing her the freedom to speak the music’s multifarious dialects.

    Marc Medwin, Fanfare Magazine
  • Shpachenko is a brilliant and thoughtful artist. There is a huge range of dramatic and technical effects within this collection, and she captures them all with remarkable precision and expressivity… In all, this is a most invigorating and distinctive release.

    Peter Burwasser, Fanfare Magazine
  • Rare, not to mention refreshing, is the classical recording that balances seriousness with humour… [Shpachenko] executes all the material with conviction, her connection to the material unwavering no matter the works’ differences. Above all else, there is joy in her playing, and it transfers infectiously to the listener.

    Ron Schepper, Textura Magazine
  • Nadia Shpachenko‘s new Reference Recordings album Quotations and Homages is a clear winner… Shpachenko’s technique and interpretation are above reproach… The album is a fascinating and approachable glimpse into the music of then and now realized through the hands and mind of a most interesting and dedicated musician.

    Don Clark, I Care If You Listen
  • The works are responses to music of composers of the past. Shpachenko herself is a strong player, with a touch that gives weight and solidity even at low dynamics… It gets wild at times, and Shpachenko played with plenty of power… Shpachenko played expertly with and through the electronics, shaping the dynamics into a rich ambient sound.

    George Grella, New York Classical Review

Track Listing:

  • TOM FLAHERTY Rainbow Tangle for piano and electronics (inspired by Messiaen)
  • MISSY MAZZOLI Bolts of Loving Thunder for solo piano (inspired by Brahms)
  • PETER YATES Epitaphs and Youngsters, a mélodrame for solo pianist (inspired by Ives, Bach, de Falla, Gershwin)
  • VERA IVANOVA 6 Fugitive Memories for solo piano (inspired by Ustvolskaya, Prokofiev, Feldman, Gubaidulina, Kurtág, Debussy, and Satie)
  • NICK NORTON Piano Piece for Mr. Carter’s 100th Birthday for solo piano (inspired by Carter)
  • ADAM BORECKI Accidental Mozart for solo piano (inspired by Mozart)
  • DANIEL FELSENFELD Down to You is Up for solo piano (inspired by The Velvet Underground)
  • JAMES MATHESON Bagatelle for 6 pianists on 3 pianos, 12 hands (inspired by Beethoven), recorded with Ray-Kallay Duo (Vicki Ray and Aron Kallay), HOCKET (Sarah Gibson and Thomas Kotcheff), and Genevieve Feiwen Lee
  • TOM FLAHERTY Igor to Please for 6 pianists on 2 toy pianos, 2 pianos, and electronics (inspired by Stravinsky), recorded with Ray-Kallay Duo (Vicki Ray and Aron Kallay), HOCKET (Sarah Gibson and Thomas Kotcheff), and Genevieve Feiwen Lee

To purchase/stream the complete album, please click below

Sneak Peak 1 – “Quotations and Homages” trailer

Sneak Peak 2 – “Debutie” by Vera Ivanova

Listen to Nadia’s Interview on Seattle’s Classical KING FM 98.1 “Second Inversion” broadcast

Sneak Peak 3 – “Rainbow Tangle” by Tom Flaherty

Special thanks to organizations and individuals who helped make this project and recording possible:

Cal Poly Pomona Dean’s Award and Provost’s Teacher/Scholar Award; Pomona College Faculty Research Grant; Chapman University Faculty Scholarly/Creative Activity Award; Marina and Victor Ledin, Sharon Hilles, Iris Levine, Janine Riveire, Peter Yates, Susan Ali, John Gilkey, Teresa Kelly, Will Wright-Hooks, Tom Zasadzinski, Matt Borgialli, Kenny Meyer, Eunbi Kim, Irene & Tung-Sheng Lin, Beth Levin, Andree-Ann Deschenes; on tour New Music Gathering, Glen Cornett, Michael Vincent Waller, Ronna Binn Hersh, Matthew Elgart, Al Walser, Olga Vlasova, Maksim Velichkin, Bill Alves, Christian Dubeau, Christine Lee, Gregory Cherninsky, Bill Vestal; over the years John Perry, Victor Rosenbaum, Victor Derevianko, Jerome Lowenthal, Martin and Nancy Chalifour, Mom, Chmom, Lala, Tereska, Brenda & Ed, Biagio’s

Thank you to all the composers for your generous help in all aspects of this project, to my producer Elaine Martone for her expertise, enthusiasm, and dedication, and to all the performers for their inspiring collaboration! This recording is dedicated to my sons Ace and Mondy, whose art and perspective inspire me and accompany this program on tour, and to my husband, Barry Werger-Gottesman, my muse and the creative force behind all my projects!