Woman at the New Piano

Nominated for 58th GRAMMY Awards® in 3 categories: Best Classical Compendium, Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble Performance by Nadia Shpachenko and Genevieve Feiwen Lee (for Tom Flaherty’s Airdancing for Toy Piano, Piano and Electronics), and Producer of the Year, Classical for Marina A. Ledin and Victor Ledin

  • Woman at the New Piano is an album with a surely cosmic purpose… Stellar performances, usual fine Reference Recordings sound throughout, informative liner notes and a most varied and energetic program make “Woman at the New Piano” a clear winner and a new favorite here.

    Don Clark, Pictures on Silence
  • An exceptional recording of newly composed piano works… Given the involvement of multiple composers, Woman at the New Piano is naturally diverse… Clearly a labour of love.

    Ron Schepper, Textura Magazine
  • Woman at the New Piano is a generous helping of new piano music by four contemporary composers covering a wide range of feelings, moods and techniques.

    Paul Muller, New Classic LA

In the year 2012 the nation was swept by a fear that had not been seen since the Y2K transition of January, 1, 2000. According to a misinterpretation of the Mayan Long Count calendar, it was believed that the world would end on December 21, 2012 — the end of the 13th b’ak’tun, 5,125 years since the previous apocalypse. Popular books, movies, and TV shows attempted to deal with the impending disaster. Sure, Mayanist scholars claimed it would really just be a time of celebration. Sure, many said that this was at most a time of transformation, with no basis for apocalyptic predictions. Yet we lived in panic, reading and watching images of the destruction of all we knew. Read More

Track Listing:

  • TOM FLAHERTY Airdancing for piano, toy piano, and electronics (with Genevieve Feiwen Lee, toy piano and Electronics)
  • PETER YATES Finger Songs for solo piano: Mood Swing; Gambol; Mysterious Dawn; Brave Show; All Better
  • ADAM SCHOENBERG Picture Etudes for solo piano: Three Pierrots; Miró’s World; Olive Orchard; Kandinsky
  • TOM FLAHERTY Part Suite-a for solo piano: Passacaglialude; Lullabande; Scherzoid
  • JAMES MATHESON Cretic Variations for solo piano
  • ADAM SCHOENBERG Bounce for two pianos (with Genevieve Feiwen Lee, Piano)

To purchase/stream the complete album, please click below

Sneak Peak 1 – “Woman at the New Piano” Trailer

Sneak Peak 2 – “Miró’s World” by Adam Schoenberg

Sneak Peak 3 – “Airdancing” by Tom Flaherty

Sneak Peak 4 – “Olive Orchard” by Adam Schoenberg